First ride: 2015 Giant Trance 2

There's been much attention on our forums about the 2015 Giant Trance. We were lucky enough to get some time on the Trance 2 at the Africa Cycle Fair. Watch our mini-review of Giant's R25,999 trail eater.


Giant Trance Specs 1.jpg
Giant Trance Specs 2.jpg

P1130561.JPG
P1130562.jpg
P1130563.jpg
P1130564.JPG




19 Comments

Simon123, Oct 25 2014 10:49

Have one that I'm pretty much half way through changing the build of.

 

Am most impressed.

Captain Fastbastard Mayhem, Oct 25 2014 12:36

Nice one, Iwan!

Claudio, Oct 25 2014 01:34

Iwan! Where's your new lid, hey?

Simon123, Oct 25 2014 06:28

gallery_27911_9_107347.jpg

NukeproofPeanut, Oct 25 2014 06:59

Sounds like you need Avids instead of Shimano :D

Johny Bravo, Oct 26 2014 10:39

I smaak that bottle cage hey.

bssales, Oct 30 2014 11:26

Awesome bike, but have to sell mine :(

MarcBurger, Oct 30 2014 11:40

Would you say a trance is too trail for multistage events such as Sani2C?
Would love a more capable bike, but also don't want to be swearing at it all the way up a long climb.

The trance sounds like the perfect budget bomber.

marko35s, Oct 30 2014 12:16

Awesome bike, but have to sell mine :(

Why?

Captain Fastbastard Mayhem, Oct 30 2014 12:35

Would you say a trance is too trail for multistage events such as Sani2C?
Would love a more capable bike, but also don't want to be swearing at it all the way up a long climb.

The trance sounds like the perfect budget bomber.


No. In fact I'd say it's the perfect bike for SA. A true all rounder.

Iwan Kemp, Oct 30 2014 04:59

Just picked up this beaut in order to write a proper review on 2015 model.
20141030_135513-1.jpg

Slowbee, Oct 30 2014 05:06

wait a minute. hold your horses, is the Crow now in employ of the Hub as a writer/reviewer?

MoreTrails, Oct 30 2014 05:08

Fox Evolution suspension - put it in the bin!!!

Iwan Kemp, Oct 30 2014 05:09

wait a minute. hold your horses, is the Crow now in employ of the Hub as a writer/reviewer?


Have been a contributer / reviewer for a while.

Iwan Kemp, Oct 30 2014 05:11

Fox Evolution suspension - put it in the bin!!!


The 2015 I rode at the fair was a noticable improvement over 2014 I rode for a couple of months.

MoreTrails, Oct 30 2014 05:13

The 2015 I rode at the fair was a noticable improvement over 2014 I rode for a couple of months.

Bru - Joburg.... flat!

Call me in 6 months and tell me what has failed

Iwan Kemp, Dec 19 2014 03:22

Bru - Joburg.... flat!

Call me in 6 months and tell me what has failed

 

Any indication yet on 2015 models? Are troubles a thing of the past?

Wolf Lyle, Dec 19 2014 03:32

All good so far. Altho can't comment on the stock fork.

Chris Newby-Fraser, Dec 29 2014 02:28

Ridden 2014 Trance 2 since July. I found the size a bit on the big side so bought one size down. Deore brakes were useless, changed to XT. Changed wheelset to Mavic to lighten up and dumped puncture happy Racing Ralphs..

Seat post is a good weight but the handlebars and short stem are heavy(60mm SL stem feels heavier then the 90mm non-SL item).

Bike handles far better then my previous 29'r Anthem. Experimented with increasing stem from 60mm to 90mm but this slowed handling too much and made manualing harder. Stiction on the Float CTD Evolution fork appears greater than on the Anthem, needing lubing after washing (stronger seals used maybe?).

Changed the 38 outer chainring to a 36, with much improved gearing.

GREAT BIKE!